Teluk Cendrawasih

Teluk Cendrawasih National Park is the largest marine national park of Indonesia, located in Cendrawasih Bay, West Papua province, Indonesia, South-East of Bird's Head Peninsula. It includes the islands of Mioswaar, Nusrowi, Roon, Rumberpon and Yoop. The park protects a rich marine ecosystem, with over 150 recorded coral species, for which it is considered a potential World Heritage Site. The Park is the largest marine national park of which 89.8 % of its area is marine.

Extending over 1.453.500 hectares, the national park includes coastal and mangrove ecosystem (0,9 %), coral reefs (5,5 %), island tropical forest ecosystem (3,8 %) and marine water (89,8 %). Some 46 species plant have been recorded on the island, dominated by  Bakau (Bruguiera sp.), Api api (Avicennia sp.), Nipah (Nypa fruticans), Sagu (Metroxilon sagu), Cemara laut (Casuarina equisetifolia), and Ketapang (Terminalia catappa).

The coral reef ecosystem forms part of the Coral Triangle region. In the park, 150 species of coral have been recorded, consisting of 15 families and distributed on the shores of 18 island. Among these are colonies of Blue coral (Heliopora coerulea), Black coral (Antipathes sp.), Leptoseris species, Mycedium elephantotus, and Alcyonaceae and soft corals. The  percentage of  live coral  coverage  varies  from  between 30 - 40 % to 64 - 65 %.

Over 209 fish species inhabit the bark among them : Butterflyfish, Damselfis, Parrotfish, Rabbitfish, Clownfish and Sharks. Species of Mollusc include Cowries (Cyparea spp.), Strombidae (Lambis spp.), Cone shell (Conus spp.), Trumpet triton (Charonia tritonis) and Giant clam (Tridacna gigas).  Four species of turtle are common in the park : The Hawksbill turtle (Eretmochelys imbricata), Green turtle (Chelonia mydas), Olive Ridley turtle (Lepidochelys olivaceae), and Leatherback turtle (Dermochelys coriacea).  Mammals include Dugong (Dugong dogon), Coconut crab (Birgus latro), Blue  whale (Balaenoptera musculus)  and  Dolphins and Sharks.

There is a natural cave with ancient remains, thermal springs containing sulphur without salt on Mioswaar island, and an underwater cave with a depth of 100 feet in Tanjung Mangguar. Remain form the 18 th century can still be found in several places, such as Wendesi, Wasior, and Yomber. Many Christians visit the church in Yende village (Roon island) to have a look at a bibble which dates from 1898.

About 14.000 people live in 72 villages within the park. Several Austronesian languages are spoken in the area which form part of the Cenderawasih languages branch and include : Wandamen, Dusner, Meoswar, Roon and Yeretuar. Most of the park is part of Teluk Wondama Regency of West Papua province, while the eastern part is Nabire Regency of Papua province.

Point of tourism to visit are Nusrowi island, Mioswaar island, Rumberpon island as we can observe wildlife such as birds, deer breeding, marinetourism, diving and snorkelling. Windesi and Yoop island are to observe whales and dolphins. Roon island is to observe bird species, diving, snorkelling, waterfalls and cultural tourism.

Declared by Minister of Forestry No. 8009/Kpts-II/2002, August 29, 2002.